Head To The Forbidden Land Of Eureka In ‘Final Fantasy XIV: Stormblood’

Head To The Forbidden Land Of Eureka In ‘Final Fantasy XIV: Stormblood’

Square Enix has finally gifted Final Fantasy XIV players with new open-world adventures, thanks to the release of Patch 4.25.

The patch introduces The Forbidden Land, Eureka Anemos, a 144-player instance with new battle elements. The release is reminiscent of the Palace of the Damned, introduced in Heavensward.

The Forbidden Land, Eureka Anemos, is an expansive, unexplored area that brings a number of changes to the normal pillars of gameplay,” Square Enix wrote in a press release. “Up to 144 players can participate. Players are encouraged to group up with fellow adventurers to hunt notorious monsters and work towards common goals.

Where The Forbidden Lands really shines is in its player progression model and new battle mechanics. Upon entrance of the new location, players will start gaining elemental experience to strengthen their abilities—but death in this area will punish players by causing them to lose all experience gained.

Additional strategy is required in battle through an element system, in which players must utilize the Magia Board to change the element affinity of their attack to oppose their enemy’s,” Square Enix said. The company has also said players will collect rewards to enhance their Eureka weapons and gear with the aid of Gerolt, who veteran players might recognize as the world-famous blacksmith experimenting with Relic Weapons.

Eureka weapons look to be very similar to the weapons found within Palace of the Damned, where players could collect points to bring their weapons found within the palace into the main game.

More information about the recently released patch—including the addition of new Hildebrand quests—can be found on The Lodestone. Those looking to give Final Fantasy XIV a shot can download the free trial to play up to level 35.